Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 12th, 2010

IT’S ALWAYS SOMETHING

So Sunday, I get back from the grocery store and unload the food. A bead of sweat rolls down my temple. Odd. I mean sure, I joke and say my grocery shopping is my exercise for the day/week/month (depends on the mood for how long it counts). I think nothing of it. "Til about an hour later when low and behold, I’m still hot. I go and look at the thermostat–RUH ROH RAGGY! The inside temp is 80° Surprised smile

Not good.

We just had a new exterior unit installed the summer of ’07 and all the crap in the attic done in ’08. It should not, not be working. Now you may be thinking, it’s October what’s the big deal. Sure, but in Texas. It’s set to be in the mid 80’s all week. Some of you northern folks are probably still shaking your heads. I know, my New Jersey grandparents didn’t even have an A/C unit at all (hell, my west Texas gps had a watercooler A/C–now that’s hell!).

Let me digress-ish for a sec… I read an article in Time magazine a year and half ago or so and the guy was going on about how people rely too heavily on their A/C and they weren’t needed and put a strain on the electric grid and we’re big babies when it goes out, yada-yada. To a degree I could agree, but the thing is, here, in Texas houses aren’t built with no A/C in mind. There is no "flow" built into the floor plan to accommodate a lack of artificially cool air being pumped into the domicile. So… even with every window open and (hang on let me count…) no less than NINE fans going it’s still frigging hot (hotter inside my house than out at the moment) in a brick house when it’s 84° outside. I am glad that 1) it IS October–when we had to replace everything before it was July (and over 100 every day) & 2) the kids are at least in school for part of the day so while yes, perturbed they’re learning, they’re at least cozy!

It is amazing though, how on a personal front, it stifles creativity. Really the heat’s not *that* bad, but the worry and fretting are. I am a worrier by nature—even when it’s for naught—so when it’s not for naught… holy cow does it invade my head!

So anyhoo… Despite all the above, I have still managed to keep up with my word count/challenge and actually added a couple 100-ish per day extra. (WOOT!) Hot smile

Read Full Post »